Skip to content

Contributor Bio: Kate Baker

June 1, 2010
by

Name: Kate Baker

Personal Website: Did You Have Juice?

“Day Job”: high school English teacher

What do you want to be when you grow up? bestselling author and founder of a new kind of secondary school

Who are some of your favorite authors? M. M. Kaye, Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, Piers Anthony, Katie MacAlister, Charlaine Harris, William Shakespeare, John Green, Madeline L’Engle, and so many others, in no particular order

What kind of books do you love? I love books with characters that feel like you really know them and with stories/settings so engrossing that you suffer culture shock when the book ends. I love stories with a sense of humor and stories that can make me think and make me cry, but not stories that make me sick. I love – and loath – stories that I wish I’d written. 🙂

No Such Thing as a Dragon coverWhat’s the first book you remember reading? There’s No Such Thing as a Dragon by Jack Kent

What’s the last book you finished reading? Katie MacAlister’s Love in the Time of Dragons (hmm… looks like someone developed an early habit!)

What are you reading now (not counting books for this website)? White Knight, by Jim Butcher, and (kind of) The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo – which isn’t about a dragon, but that’s still pretty darned funny

Where’s your favorite place to read? Curled up somewhere comfortable – be it a couch, hammock, or bus seat – with perfectly adjusted pillows, a light afghan, a dog or cat at my feet, and a seasonally-appropriate beverage at hand.

Who’s your favorite Harry Potter character? Molly Weasley in the final book.

What book(s), if any, had a big impact on you growing up? I was such a bookworm that it’s hard to remember all of the books that rocked my world. Kaye’s Ordinary Princess, definitely, and any number of books set in British-occupied India. A Wrinkle in Time and A Wind in the Door. The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles, everything by Roald Dahl, and most everything by Piers Anthony.

What book(s) did you hate the most in high school/middle school? Ethan Frome was the worst. I don’t remember enjoying hardly any of the books we were assigned in high school, with the exception of Shakespeare, which I always liked.

What do your bookshelves (or lack thereof) say about you? That I have a serious book-collecting problem and need to find more space for books and more time to organize them! I’ve had my books organized alphabetically, but want to resort them a la simplified Dewey. They probably also say that I am, if nothing else, an eclectic reader… with a potentially embarrassing soft spot for paranormal romance.

What do you do when your nose isn’t in a book? I teach, blog, photograph, treasure-hunt (a more exotic way to say “shop at antique and thrift stores”) and do other stuff as the whim strikes me.

Kate Baker

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

